Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Raleigh, NC | Raleigh Work Injury Attorney

Workers Compensation Attorney in Raleigh, North Carolina

When a Work Injury Turns Your Life Upside Down, Your Focus Should Be on Your Recovery, Not a Legal Battle. Let a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer at Henson Fuerst Fight for The Benefits You Need.

Experienced Raleigh Workers' Compensation Attorney

You Pay Nothing Unless We Win Your Workers’ Compensation Claim

For both families and workers, a serious workplace accident can do more than just physical harm. Instead of focusing on your recovery, you may become distracted with feelings of frustration, anxiety, and uncertainty about the future. Who will provide for your loved ones? How are you going to pay your bills? What are your options? It can be extremely overwhelming to be thrown into a process so unfamiliar without any support while you’re trying to recover.

Contact the North Carolina workers’ compensation lawyers at Henson Fuerst today for a free consultation by submitting a form online or calling 919-781-1107.

Contact Us Today

LP Contact Form

$240 Thousand

Workers' Compensation

$15 Million

Nursing Home Abuse

$9.5 Million

Truck Accident

Henson Fuerst Attorneys

Our workers' compensation lawyers can help you

Over 150 years of combined experience

We have been serving accident victims since 1976. If you need a workers' compensation attorney in Raleigh, North Carolina, contact our law firm today.

Our law firm is highly rated by our clients

You can expect to be treated like family and provided with honest and compassionate legal representation. We have helped thousands of clients just like you.

4.6 out of 5 stars on Google

Our team is available 24 hours a day

Contact our Raleigh workers' compensation lawyer day or night to get help with your case. Henson Fuerst will to stand up for your rights.

How much money does a workers' compensation claim pay?

If you’re eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits, you may receive up to 66.7 percent of your average weekly wage. However, this amount cannot exceed the 2023 limit of $1,254 per week. The maximum weekly benefit is adjusted every year to match cost of living increases. For the latest information, visit the North Carolina Industrial Commission's website.

According to state law, a worker in North Carolina is entitled to two-thirds of their average weekly salary each week. The average weekly pay can be calculated in a variety of ways by an insurance company. According to the law, the insurance company must look back one year from the date of the accident to determine how much the worker earned before taxes during that time. The average weekly pay is calculated by dividing that amount by 52 weeks. Then, the earned amount is divided by the number of weeks worked if a person worked less than 52 weeks.

The severity of your injuries or the length of time you’re away from work determines which benefits you may be eligible to receive. Workers’ compensation offers three major types of benefits: Weekly checks for time missed from work, payment for related medical expenses, and payment for permanent injuries.

Who qualifies for a workers' compensation claim?

Generally speaking, in order to qualify for workers’ compensation you must meet four requirements:

  1. You must be an employee; To qualify for workers’ compensation you must be an employee. It is important to note that independent contractors and volunteers are not usually entitled to workers’ compensation benefits.
  2. You must have a work-related injury or illness; In most cases, if you are performing a task for the benefit of your employer it is considered work-related. Therefore if you meet these criteria and become injured, it is a work-related injury.
  3. Your work-related injury must be the result of an accident or occupational disease; Not every workplace injury or illness that occurs on the job entitles you to benefits. Generally, the injury or illness must have been caused by an accident or exposure. There are many exceptions, but in general you will not be eligible for benefits if an injury occurs spontaneously while performing your regular job duties.
  4. You must meet North Carolina’s deadlines for reporting the injury and filing a workers’ compensation claim. Within thirty days, or as soon as practical, after you have been injured you must give written notice to your employer. Be sure to include the date of the accident and a brief description of your injury in the statement and to keep a copy of it for your records. Within 2 years of the date of the accident, a Form 18 Notice of Accident must be filed with the NC Industrial Commission. The attorneys at Henson Fuerst can help you do so.
Man who needed a lawyer

"I had a work injury. The owner of the company did not have workers’ compensation insurance. I was afraid doctor bills wouldn’t get paid, so I retained this company. My employer also never offered a dime outside of doctor bills. Joey and Kim worked my case. They were so amazing and stuck with me every single step of the way. They put my mind at ease. If you are looking for an attorney and paralegal who know all of the ins and outs of these cases, and work to get for you what you deserve, Joey and Kim are exactly what you need!"

Steve C.

Workers' Compensation

Woman worker in a warehouse job.

Get A Workers' Compensation Lawyer in Raleigh, NC That Cares About Protecting Your Rights.

Insurance Companies Take Advantage of Injured, Desperate Workers

Once your employer’s insurance provider discovers you were injured at work, a claims adjuster will be assigned to your case before you even get a chance to start on the road to recovery. But beware, the insurance adjuster is employed by the insurance company, not by you. This means you can’t count on them to have you and your family’s best interests in mind. Chances are, they’re going to treat you as just another number in their system. Workers’ compensation adjusters have their own set of methods for investigating, defending, negotiating, and settling cases. It may feel as though no one is on your side, and the insurance company is looking to catch you in a lie. At Henson Fuerst, we believe in our clients. Our lawyers are on your side and will fight to get you back on the road to recovery and financial security.

You’re Not Just a Number. Your Case Matters

When you’re battling the insurance company, you need someone to fight for you every step of the way to prevent your claim from being downplayed or denied so that you receive the right care. You deserve to be treated as a person, not a number. That’s precisely what you’ll get from Henson Fuerst. We know the hurdles you’ll encounter in your pursuit for compensation, and we’ll stand up against the insurance company to ensure that your rights are protected and that you obtain the benefits you are entitled to. We’ve seen the effects work injuries have on hardworking people. When you don’t feel like your voice is being heard, our attorneys will be your advocate. Whether you were injured in a workplace accident or developed a work-related illness, our North Carolina workers’ compensation attorneys have the knowledge, resources, and expertise required to provide you and your family with the financial relief and stability of workers’ compensation benefits.

What Should I Do After Suffering a Work Injury?

Seek immediate medical attention

If your workplace has a designated healthcare provider, seek medical attention with that provider. If not, seek appropriate medical attention elsewhere. Communicate the name of your employer and how your accident happened to your healthcare provider. Your provider will use this information to bill your treatment as a workers’ compensation claim.

Report your injuries to your employer

As soon as possible, tell your highest-ranking manager or the owner of your company about your injuries. If you can report your injuries in person, do so. Otherwise, have a family member or healthcare provider notify your employer.

Give your employer written notice of your injuries

Within 30 days of your accident, send a simple written notice of your injury to your employer. All that is necessary is a brief description of the accident and injury. If you’re unable to write a letter, have a family member or healthcare provider send one. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.

Follow your healthcare provider’s instructions

To increase your chances of regaining the level of health you had before your accident, always follow your healthcare provider’s instructions. For more information, visit the North Carolina Industrial Commission (NCIC).

How long do i have to file a workers' compensation claim in Raleigh, North Carolina?

Employees should submit their claim within thirty days of the accident occurring. Unless the employer pays salary replacement compensation, injury by accident claims must be filed within two years after the date of injury. If the employer has covered the cost of medical care, the claim must be filed within two years after the last payment.

What if your workers' compensation claim is denied?

Consult an attorney. Workers’ compensation law may be too complicated to handle on your own. Many people try to go it alone and make mistakes that can be irreversible. You need a knowledgeable North Carolina workers’ compensation lawyer to help you navigate the process. Your employer and the insurance company will definitely have attorneys, which puts you at a disadvantage unless you have your own representation.

Should you use your medical insurance if your workers' comp claim is denied?

Yes, use any means available to you to seek medical treatment if your workers' comp. claim is denied. From a health standpoint, you want to minimize the amount of time between an injury happening and having that injury treated. From a claims standpoint, you want to make sure that you are building a record of your injuries and resulting treatment from the very beginning. More claims are lost due to lack of documentation than almost any other reason.

We never charge a fee unless we obtain a recovery for you. If a recovery is not made, you pay us nothing.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does workers' compensation pay for long-term damages in North Carolina?

While your doctor has you written out of work, you are entitled to Total Temporary Disability (TTD). These are weekly checks in the amount of two-thirds of your gross weekly pay at the time of your injury. You also are entitled to payment for related medical expenses. Depending on the outcome of your treatment, your doctor may also assign something called a disability rating, which allows you to be paid for a permanent injury.

When should I consult an injury lawyer in North Carolina over a workers’ compensation claim?

It depends on the severity of your injury. If you have a minor injury that doesn’t require surgery and your doctor expects you to make a full recovery and return to work, then you probably don’t need an attorney. However, if you have a more severe injury that requires surgery and your ability to return to your previous employment is in doubt, then it’s advisable to talk with an attorney.

Will workers’ comp pay lost wages in North Carolina?

Your sick days will be used for the first seven days you are out of work from your injuries. After the first seven days, if your doctor still has not permitted you to return to work, then lost wage payments (called Total Temporary Disability or TTD) should start. If you are out of work for more than 21 days, the insurance company may go back and pay you for the first seven days. In most cases, though, there is no way to recover vacation or sick time.

Do I have to file my claim if my employer has already reported the accident?

Yes. Whenever an accident happens, two reports must be made: one by your employer and one by you. You must file a Form 18.

Am I responsible for my own transportation to doctors’ appointments?

If you have no way to get to the doctor, the insurance company will usually provide transportation. However, many times the transportation provided by the insurance company is less than reliable. It’s always better to use your own means of transportation, if possible. If you decide to use your own car or have somebody drive you, you will be entitled to mileage reimbursement.

Should I call my employer every day I am absent because of my injury?

Generally, no. Your doctor will provide you a written excuse to be out of work for blocks of time, and your employer will likely have a copy of the doctor’s note. However, if your company has a policy making it appropriate or essential for you to call in sick each day, be careful to limit the conversation. Many people say too much to their employer about their injuries, and their words come back to haunt them.

What should I do when the doctor releases me with restrictions that prevent me from doing my job?

This question is actually a lot more complicated than it sounds. If this happens, you should consult an attorney. The insurance company will likely assign a vocational rehabilitation counselor to work with you or ask you if you want to settle your case. There are restrictions on how a vocational rehabilitation counselor can work with you, and it’s important that you protect your rights when interacting with them.

What is a vocational rehabilitation counselor?

The North Carolina Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services uses vocational rehab counselors to help people with disabilities and injuries live more fulfilling lives. These counselors assist by:

  • Assessing their clients’ capabilities and limitations
  • Working with their clients to set goals for employment and independent living
  • Arranging training and therapy to meet those goals
  • Facilitating job training and placement
Should I look for another job if my restrictions will not allow me to return to my job?

Yes. You should look for another job and keep a log of all efforts you make along the way. Having a record of your job search may help prove that you are unable to work, which will allow you to keep receiving your TTD checks. This documentation is critical in hearings or settlement conversations.

What is a permanent restriction?

A permanent restriction is a doctor’s order that says you can’t perform the work you did before you were injured. If you can’t perform your former job duties, your employer may give you an alternative work assignment. But if your employer can’t accommodate your restrictions, you may be eligible for TTD benefits while you look for another job.

What is the Role of a Workers' Comp Case Manager?

If you have a workers’ compensation claim, your employer’s insurance provider may assign a nurse case manager to your case. The nurse case manager works for the insurance company and he or she will be responsible for reporting the status of your care to the insurance company.

Do I have to allow my nurse case manager to attend my doctors’ appointments?

Yes. The nurse case manager has the right to attend your doctor appointments. However, he or she has no right to be in the room with you while you are being examined by the doctor. If you elect to have a private exam, the nurse case manager must respect that request. When the exam is complete, the nurse case manager has the right to speak to your doctor, but you should always try to be in the room while your nurse case manager is talking to your doctor.

How long do I have to wait to start getting workers’ comp benefits in NC?

After you apply for workers’ compensation benefits, there is a seven-day waiting period during which time you will not be compensated for time lost. The only exception to this is if the injury you incurred leaves you unable to work for more than 21 days. In that case, you may receive compensation during the first seven days. It is important to note that those who must wait seven days may elect to use their earned sick days or vacation leave during this period.

Who pays for workers’ compensation?

Generally speaking, your employer is responsible for paying for your workers’ compensation insurance as established in the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act.

Employers typically purchase coverage through private insurance companies, which will payout in the event an employee becomes injured. Those that are unable to get coverage through private insurers may be eligible to get coverage through NC’s assigned risk pool, which is administered through the North Carolina Rate Bureau. Another option some employers choose is to self-insure. This means that the employer pays for their employees’ claims out-of-pocket.

Can I be fired while I'm out on workers' compensation?

While some people avoid filing for workers’ compensation for fear of retaliation, you cannot be fired because you have filed for workers’ compensation but you can be fired while you have an open claim for workers’ compensation. However, in order to fire you, your employer must be able to demonstrate that there was another reason for doing so that had nothing to do with your open claim.

Are workers’ comp settlements taxable?

Workers’ compensation benefits are usually not taxable. However, there may be an exception for those individuals who also receive disability benefits via Social Security disability insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

If an individual’s workers’ compensation benefits and disability payments are above a specific threshold, the Social Security Administration (SSA) may reduce these benefits so that the combined total remains below the threshold.

The only money through workers’ compensation that is taxable is the amount by which the SSA can reduce your monthly benefits. For example, if the SSA lowers your monthly SSDI check by $300 (to keep your total below the threshold), then $300 of your workers’ compensation is taxable.

The only money through workers’ compensation that is taxable is the amount by which the SSA can reduce your monthly benefits. For example, if the SSA lowers your monthly SSDI check by $300 (to keep your total below the threshold), then $300 of your workers’ compensation is taxable.

What benefits other than medical care can I receive?

If your claim is compensable, you may be eligible to receive the following:

  • Temporary total disability benefits may be issued to you if your doctor has written you completely out of work, or if you have restrictions that your employer cannot accommodate. The amount is two-thirds of your average weekly income. However, these benefits cannot exceed the state’s maximum weekly compensation rate under the law, which is set each year. For 2023 the maximum benefit is $1,254 per week. These benefits are capped at 500 weeks.

  • Temporary partial disability benefits may be issued to you if you return to work, but have restrictions that cause you to earn less. The amount is two-thirds of the difference between your income prior to the injury and your income after. For example, if you earned $1000 weekly before the injury but are now earning $400, the difference is $600. Two-thirds of $600 is $400, which is what you would earn in benefits weekly. Temporary partial disability payments are paid out for no more than 500 weeks.

  • Permanent partial disability benefits may be issued if a doctor finds that you have a permanent injury to a specific body part. If it is determined that you have a permanent disability to your arms, hands, legs, feet, ears, eyes, or back you may receive two-thirds of your average weekly income for a limited number of weeks. The number of weeks you receive these benefits is dependent on what part of the body is permanently disabled according to the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act.

    For example, the total loss of the use of your hand would provide you with two-thirds of your average weekly income for 200 weeks. Therefore, if you suffered a 50 percent loss of the use of your hand, you would receive two-thirds of your average weekly income for 100 weeks.

  • Scarring or damage to an organ: In lieu of a disability rating, The North Carolina Industrial Commission can issue awards for scarring, disfigurement, or damage to an internal organ. Such payments include:

    • Up to $20,000 for serious disfigurement to the head or face;
    • Up to $10,000 for serious disfigurement to another part of the body ; and
    • Up to $20,000 for permanent injury to an internal or external organ.
  • Permanent total disability benefits may be issued if a doctor finds that you are permanently or totally disabled. These benefits are not subject to the 500-week cap. These benefits are only awarded if you suffer from one or more of the following limitations as a result of your injury:
    1. The loss of both hands, both arms, both feet, both legs, both eyes, or any two thereof.
    2. Spinal injury involving severe paralysis of both arms, both legs, or the trunk.
    3. Severe brain or closed head injury as evidenced by severe and permanent:
      • Sensory or motor disturbances;
      • Communication disturbances;
      • Complex integrated disturbances of cerebral function; or
      • Neurological disorders
    4. Second-degree or third-degree burns to thirty-three percent (33%) or more of the total body surface.
What Injuries are Covered Under the Workers’ Compensation Act?

Workers’ compensation covers almost any physical injury sustained at work, as well as a variety of job-related illnesses. The most common injuries named in workers’ compensation claims include:

  • Back injuries
  • Head and neck injuries
  • Broken bones
  • Cuts, lacerations, and puncture wounds
  • Strains and sprains from overexertion
  • Crushed limbs
  • Blindness
  • Deafness
  • Burns
  • Soft tissue injuries
  • Respiratory problems
  • Repetitive motion injuries
  • Toxic exposure
  • Amputations
  • Concussions
  • Knee injuries
  • Nerve damage
  • Traumatic brain injuries

A prior ailment or condition will not qualify unless the employment requirements substantially worsened it.

We have represented thousands of clients for over 45 years.

$240K Settlement

While stepping down from a truck, our client suffered a type of ankle fracture called a calcaneous avulsion fracture. His injuries required complicated surgery and aggressive physical therapy. The injury then triggered a complex regional pain syndrome. As a result of this serious medical condition, our client was unable to return to his job. The settlement for our client was fully collectible.

Meet our Raleigh Workers' Compensation Lawyer

Joseph S. Hodgin, Workers' Compensation Lawyer at Henson Fuerst Attorneys.

Joseph "Joey" S. Hodgin

For nearly twenty years Joseph has dedicated his career to representing the working men and women of North Carolina. He is well known and is routinely consulted with and has cases referred to him by other attorneys across the state. Anything from common injuries such as rotator cuff tears and carpal tunnel syndrome to catastrophic injuries such as head trauma and spinal injuries, are all within his area of expertise. He also takes a special interest in representing our state’s first responders. He has represented and continues to represent EMS workers, police officers, and firefighters.

Related Workers' Compensation Stories

Our Raleigh workers’ comp lawyers strive to keep our community educated and informed about the latest trends and events regarding North Carolina workers’ rights and workers’ compensation law. Browse our most recent blog posts here:

Raleigh Office

3110 Edwards Mill Rd
Suite 210,
Raleigh, NC 27612

P (919) 781-1107
F (919) 781-8048

Scroll to Top